Bob Runciman appointed Chair of the St. Lawrence Parks Commission


Senator Bob Runciman has been appointed Chair of the St. Lawrence Parks Commission by the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, Michael Tibollo for a four-year term. Bob Runciman is well-known in these parts, having served Leeds-Grenville in the Ontario Legislature for 29 years. During that time, he held a number of Cabinet positions including Solicitor General, Minister of Correctional Services, Minister of Consumer and Commercial Relations, Minister of Economic Development and Trade and Minister of Public Safety and Security. In January 2010, he was appointed to the Senate of Canada where he served until August 2017.

His successor as M.P.P. for this riding, the current Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Steve Clark, welcomed the appointment in a statement to the media.

“Senator Bob Runciman is the perfect choice to lead the St. Lawrence Parks Commission board of commissioners and I congratulate him on his new role as chair. With decades of public service at the municipal, provincial and federal levels, no one understands our region better or the importance of Parks Commission’s attractions in supporting our local tourism economy and quality of life. I look forward to working with Bob, his fellow commissioners and Parks Commission staff to enhance the visitor experience and let tourists everywhere know that we’re open for business.”

The SLPC provides recreational, cultural and heritage and tourism opportunities at its attractions along 200 kilometres of the St. Lawrence River, including the award-winning heritage attractions Upper Canada Village and Fort Henry National Historic Site of Canada, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. According to the Commission’s website: “The Chair and Commission members are responsible for providing strategic direction to the SLPC and governing the aff airs of the SLPC within its mandate as set out in the Act, the SLPC’s by-laws, agreements, its approved business plan and the policy parameters established and communicated by the Minister.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here