Appointments named to the Task Force on Affordable Housing

Municipality Matters


The North Grenville Municipal Council is pleased to announce the members of the Mayor’s Task Force on Affordable Housing. The newly appointed members of the Task Force are:

Carl Cannon, Co‑chair
Colleen Lynas, Co‑chair
Mitch Bloom
Dana Farcasiu
Christopher McLellan
Sandra McNamara
Don Palmer
Andre Rancourt
Geraldine Taylor
Therese Whittaker
Nancy Peckford, Mayor
Jim McManaman, Deputy Mayor

The Task Force was established by Mayor Nancy Peckford, in collaboration with Council, this past January. It has a mandate to examine the current state of affordable housing in the Municipality and make recommendations to Council by January, 2020, regarding strategies and opportunities to expand affordable housing options across the community.

When the call for members of the Task Force was made, the high number of applications highlighted the strong interest by members of the community in the Taskforce.

Consequently, the Mayor and Council have also established a Community Advisory Group to assist the Task Force in their efforts.

The following individuals were appointed to the Community Advisory Group:

Robert Angi
Paul Calder
Krista George
Gord Godfrey
Teddy Livingston
Elaine Murkin
Erin O’Connor
Lorraine Rekmans

“We are very pleased to appoint such a talented group of individuals to serve on both the Task Force and as members of the Community Advisory Group”, stated Mayor Nancy Peckford. “I am very optimistic that the efforts by all will be successful and produce a positive way forward for our community.”

The Task Force plans to hear from a variety of subject matter experts, as well as stakeholders and individuals with lived experiences of housing challenges. Anyone in the community who would like to express their opinions and ideas is welcome.

A special email address has been set up to communicate with the Task Force: [email protected]. Those wishing to make a presentation to the Task Force, or simply share their perspective, can do so by sending an email to the address above. The Task Force and Community Advisory Group will hold their first meeting on Thursday, February 28, at 6:30 p.m. at the Municipal Centre. All Task Force meetings are open to the public.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here