by Paul Cormier

On December 19, 2018, the new Board of Management of the Old Town Kemptville Business Improvement Area met for the first time since its election November 21. The Board is elected every four years, to coincide with the election of the Municipal Council. Positions that become vacant throughout the four year period are filled by nomination by the Board to Council, which approves the candidacy of new Directors. The meeting, held at the Municipal Centre, had a full agenda, including the election of the new Executive Committee by the new Board.

Elected by acclamation, with the kind help of Matt Gilmer from the municipality, were: Debbie Wilson, Chair; Kim Smalridge, Vice Chair; Stephen Bent, Treasurer; Paul Cormier, Secretary.

During the course of the meeting, the Directors signed a Code of Conduct, aimed at providing guidance to them as they serve the members in the BIA footprint. In addition, the BIA announced that Deron Johnston had won the competition to become its new Executive Director. He will be on duty as of January 2, 2019. Deron was selected from a short list of candidates who submitted their application for the job, by a selection committee made up of the Executive Committee, and supported by John Barclay, outgoing Executive Director and one of the new Municipal Councillor for North Grenville.

John, forever faithful to the cause of the BIA, was in attendance at our first official meeting, as was Jim McManaman, also newly elected Councillor. We of the BIA appreciated John and Jim’s participation and support at this first very important meeting.

We will be off to a firm start in January, with the preparation of a Business Plan and budget for 2019. Prior to its development, Deron will be visiting with businesses in the BIA footprint to get a sense of what the priorities might be for inclusion in our plan. Meanwhile, the Executive Committee will be working on applications for funding old townfor special projects in the coming year. All in all, we are looking for an exciting 2019, with an exciting new Board, Executive Director, Executive Committee and Council in support.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here