The NG Times Newspaper

by Jane Adams

You might not see the latest Winchester District Memorial Hospital Commitment Award recipients wandering the halls at WDMH. That’s because they all work ‘behind the scenes’, caring for patients in areas of the hospital that others may not visit very often.

Congratulations to Dr. Jose Aquino, Chief of Medical Imaging; Dr. Geoff Doherty, President of The Ottawa Hospital & Region Imaging Associates (OHRIA) and all the OHRIA members; Karen Lydiatt, RN, Team Leader, Perioperative Unit; and Volunteer Norma McNaughton.

Dr. Aquino, Dr. Doherty and the OHRIA team know that getting answers fast results in better care. They have worked together to ensure that after-hours support is available for CT scans at WDMH. As a result, patients do not need to travel to Ottawa during off-hours for this procedure. “They have demonstrated compassion by recognizing that it is a priority to care for our patients close to home,” say their nominators.

As the Team Leader in WDMH’s Operating Room, Karen Lydiatt has a ‘let’s get it done’ attitude. She has led several initiatives that have brought positive changes to the OR. “Karen is a patient care champion. She has demonstrated a career long commitment to patients, staff and healthcare improvement,” add her nominators.

Volunteer Norma McNaughton was nominated for the Commitment Award by a staff member who was also a day surgery patient at WDMH. “Norma is good at her job,” notes her nominator. “She made me feel so comfortable and less nervous. She functions as though she works here and is being paid. She treated me with dignity.” The Commitment Awards shine a light on individuals or teams that demonstrate the values that result in compassionate excellence. Congratulations to all the nominees.

If you would like to provide comments or suggestions about hospital services, please contact Cholly Boland, President and CEO, Winchester District Memorial Hospital at 613.774.1049 or by email at [email protected].


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here