Council announces appointees to advisory committees


At their regular meeting on July 16, North Grenville’s Municipal Council appointed members to seven advisory committees. This is in addition to the Mayoral Task Force on Affordable Housing struck in January, and the Community & Economic Development Advisory Committee convened in April.

Of the seven remaining advisory committees, three of them are existing, including the Accessibility Advisory Committee, the Active Transportation Advisory Committee and the Heritage Advisory Committee. Four are newly established advisory committees, including Agriculture & Rural Affairs, Arts & Culture, Environmental Action and Health, Wellness & Fitness.

“On behalf of Council, I would like to extend our appreciation to all those who expressed an interest in contributing to our community by playing a role on a Committee. In addition to the community members appointed by Council to each committee, Council has created the capacity for each Committee to include designated representatives of relevant organizations and advisory experts who have particular knowledge and interests. This will ensure each Committee and Municipal Council as a whole will benefit from a diversity of views and perspectives,” said Mayor Peckford.

According to the newly established Terms of Reference for all Municipal Advisory Committees, there are a maximum of two elected representatives of Council on each Committee. Chairs and vice chairs will be selected among those community members appointed to each Committee and Council representatives will not be eligible for these roles.

The appointed members, including Council representatives are as follows:

Accessibility Advisory Committee: Jason Turmaine, Kris McPhee, Carole Pollock, Jamie Bertrand, Tony Labossiere, Councillor Doreen O’Sullivan, Mayor Nancy Peckford.

Active Transportation Advisory Committee: Evann Yakabuski; Sarah Herring; Kathryn Allwright; William Kozak; Paul Sharpe; Amanda Bennett; Kerrie-Lynn Kossatz; Jill Sturdy; Councillor Doreen O’Sullivan and Councillor Kristin Strackerjan.

Agriculture & Rural Affairs Advisory Committee: Martha Bradburn; Laura Scott; Yann Bossel; Deron Johnston; Shawn Carnegie; Emily Kelly; Councillor John Barclay and Mayor Nancy Peckford.

Arts & Culture Advisory Committee: Lisa Poushinsky; Justin Ralph; Susanna Larner; Arthur McGregor; Barbara Lacelle; Herb Cloutier; Nancy Johnston; Jayne Couch Molony; Caroline Koeheler; Councillor John Barclay and Councillor Doreen O’Sullivan.

Environmental Action Advisory Committee: Amie Boudreau Ivany; Jacob Brown; Fraser Mowat; Graeme Allan; Colin Creasey; Cheryl Sheffer; Fredrick Schueler; Kara Vlasman; Councillor Kristin Strackerjan and Councillor John Barclay.

Health, Wellness & Fitness Advisory Committee: Jill Wylie; Tanya Deans; Robert Matheson; Stacey Dickson; Debbie Allingham; Phil Mosher; Nick Charman; Earl Horvath; Mayor Nancy Peckford and Councillor Jim McManaman.

Heritage Advisory Committee: Patricia Habberjam; Inge van Gemeren; Michael Whittaker; Neil Whyte; Cam Stevenson; Dagmar McCord; David Shanahan; Kenneth Mews; Councillor John Barclay and Mayor Nancy Peckford.

Now that the appointments have been made, the committees will convene in the near future. Meeting dates, agendas and minutes will be posted to the Municipal website as they become available. Committee members and Terms of Reference are also available on the website at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here