Kemptville’s Lost Heritage

One of the most obvious gaps in the streetscape of Kemptville is on Clothier Street East, between the South Branch Bistro and O’Heaphy’s. For...

“Discover the story behind every door”

Inaugural year for Doors Open North Grenville This is one of 25 sites which will be open to the public to visit on Sept 24,...

“Discover the story behind every door” Maplewood Hall, Oxford Mills

Maplewood Community Hall has been at the centre of life in the hamlet since it first opened as a school in 1875. In its...

The red and white bricks of Merrickville-Wolford

by the Merrickville and District Historical Society As you drive towards Easton’s Corners on highway 16, just between Allan’s Tool Shed and Wolford Public School,...

Odd Fellows Hall, 119 Clothier St. East

Built in 1859 by Joseph Bower, a leading merchant in the community in the latter half of the century, it was run by Bowers...
The NG Times Newspaper

All the latest news from 1865

by Doug Hendry and David Shanahan Kemptville only got its first newspaper in 1855, and it only lasted a few years. A second paper arrived...

The Leach Blacksmith Shop and Banks Bros Livery Stable

The Leach, Blacksmith Shop On the south-east corner of Asa and Thomas is the parking lot, an empty space which was once, and for decades,...

The Ferguson House, 506 Prescott Street, Kemptville

This lovely house is a reminder of Kemptville’s past. In 1844, John Clothier sold 9 acres of land to John Rath. This property covered...

Parliament Hill

There are very few more potent symbols of Canada and Confederation than the Centre Block on Parliament Hill, with its magnificent Peace Tower, which...

Rachel Swedlove: survivor and supporter

When Rachel Swedlove arrived in Kemptville in 1929, she had already lived more than many people manage in a lifetime. Born Rachel Achber, in...
Kemptville
overcast clouds
-3.3 ° C
-1.7 °
-6 °
86 %
2.1kmh
90 %
Fri
-0 °
Sat
-0 °
Sun
1 °
Mon
1 °
Tue
-1 °